On Sunday,November 17th, the Czech Republic commemorated the day that entered its history in 1939 and 1989. In both cases, the event was driven mainly by university students, and therefore it was their Sunday holiday. Traditional commemorative events took place at Hlávka dormitory and Albertov campus, where a student parade started in 1989, and Národní třída, where the demonstration for the return of democracy was severely suppressed. CTU Rector doc. Vojtěch Petráček and members of the CTU Management.
The CTU Lions racing mototeam of CTU students brings two silver and two bronze medals from the world-famous Barcelona-Catalunya circuit. From Friday 15th to Sunday 17th November races were held under the auspices of Catalonia Road Motorcycle Championship and our CTU Lions representatives competed with both electric and internal combustion engine of their own design.
On 16 November, the Josef Hlávka Award was presented at the Josef Hlávka Chateau in Lužany near Přeštice. The prize is awarded by the Foundation “Nadání Josefa, Marie and Zdeňky Hlávkových”.
The opening of the Velvet Autumn exhibition of the CTU was held in the respiratory of the CTU-CIIRC building on Wednesday, November 13. The exhibition reflects the events at CTU at the turn of 1989/1990 in the context of society-wide contemporary events.
CTU Rector doc. Vojtěch Petráček gave speech as part of the Science Café project and on the occasion of the 17th November anniversary at the Czech Center in New York on 6 November.
The paper PLMP - Point-Line Minimal Problems in Full Visibility for Multiple Views, co-authored by Tomáš Pajdla of CTU - CIIRC, won Best Student Paper Award at IEEE / VF International Conference on Computer Vision 2019 (ICCV 2019) held in Seoul from 29 October to 1 November. ICCV is a prestigious international conference on computer vision that is held every two years.
After three years of development and testing, a unique web application was created together with students from the Czech Technical University in Prague, titled Wowee. It uses the principle of crowdfunding among friends, family or colleagues, who, through a simple online application, can fold into meaningful gifts.
The Faculty of Electrical Engineering CTU, together with Avast, is developing research into artificial intelligence and machine learning. This is the first of its kind in this area. The Avast AI and Cybersecurity Laboratory (abbreviated AAICL), where most of the research will take place, is located on the Faculty campus at Charles Square.
The ninth edition of the Hockey Battle of the four largest universities in Prague (CTU, UK, VŠE and CULS) was held on Thursday, 31 October. The CTU Student Union was again the co-organizer and coordinator of this year.
On 30 October, prof. Mgr. Petr Páta was inaugurated into office of the Dean of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering for the term from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2023 in the Bethlehem Chapel. The ceremony was attended by representatives of CTU and the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, including the Rector of CTU, doc. Vojtěch Petráček and other members of the academic community.