Dr. Martin Sasky´s team of the Multirobotic Systems research group departs for the preparations for the finale of the prestigious robotics competition Mohamed Bin Zayed International Robotics Challenge (MBZIRC) on 26 February. It will be held on 16 and 17 March in Abu Dhabi. The team from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering was able to use the $ 200,000 sponsorship and fight their way into the finals of the competition in competition with the world's leading universities. The CTU team will compete for 26 million crowns in the renowned F1 racing arena, Yas Marina. Teams will compete against teams from world famous universities such as Carnegie Mellon, ETH Zurich, Georgia Institute of Technology or the University of Tokyo.
The CTU Spring Concert will be held in the historic premises of the Bethlehem Chapel on 1 March, at 19.30. The Hradec Kralove Philharmonic Orchestra will be performing, conducted by Andreas Sebastian Weiser. The german mezzo-sopraninst Anna Haase will be guest at the concert.
On 17 January, CTU commenced celebrations marking the 310th anniversary of publishing the imperial rescript with which Joseph I had doubtlessly supported founding of engineering school. A range of cultural events, lectures and professional meetings will be held until september this year, unveiling the past and future of the oldest czech technical university.


On Friday 10 February, Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering joined the international project “Finding the Higgs boson decay of Z0” on the ATLAS experiment at the LHC, organized in cooperation with the International Group for popularizing Particle Physics, (IPPOG) the European Physical Society EPS and CERN on the occasion of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science due on 11 February.
Scientist team from the Department of Economics, Management and Humanities of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, together with colleagues from Silva Tarouca Research Institute for Landscape and Ornamental Gardening (VÚKOZ) at the Department of Phytoenergetics and Biodiversity proposed a new methodology for mapping the potential of biomass for energy use in a given area. Research was noticed by the prestigious scientific journal Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, which in January published an article "Short-term boosting of biomass energy sources - Determination of the biomass potential for prevention of regional Crisis Situations".
Faculty of Biomedical Engineering in Kladno inaugurated the newly built Laboratory of Biochemistry and Clinical Biochemistry on 9 February at 13.00. Besides faculty management representatives, the event was also attended by the Deputy Mayor of Kladno, Ing. Premysl Mužík.
For the 19th time, The Siemens Czech awarded the best young scientists, students and teachers in the prestigious science competition, Werner von Siemens Prize. At the gala evening at the Bethlehem Chapel on 9 February, Marek Novák from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering received the award in the most significant result of research and innovation category. The student was awarded for the development of miniature meter with accessible operation and connection to the smartphone. Award for the best doctoral dissertation written by a woman was taken by Neda Neykova from the Department of Solid State Engineering at Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering, focusing on hydrothermal synthesis of ZnO nanorods and nanoshells for use in photovoltaics.
The first Czech medal at the 28th World Winter Universiade in Almaty, Kazakhstan, was taken by ski jumper Marta Křepelková, student of the cybernetics and robotics course at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering.