Publication date: 
The European Mathematical Society (EMS) has established the EMS Young Academy (EMYA) to support young researchers in mathematics. The organisation consists of Ph.D. students and recent Ph.D. graduates. It will have a total of 120 members, who will be elected successively for four-year terms. Each year, there is an election in which a quarter of the members is elected. This year, RNDr. Zdeněk Mihula, Ph.D. from the Department of Mathematics of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering of CTU, is among the first ever thirty mathematicians who received a mandate.

Dr. Mihula graduated from the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics at Charles University. He currently works at the Department of Mathematics at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, where he is engaged in mathematical analysis. His main research interests are function spaces, Sobolev spaces and fine properties of Sobolev functions, weighted inequalities, and interpolation of operators. He is the chairman of the organizing committee of the International Mathematics Conference, which is organized every other year by the Department of Mathematics at FEE CTU. He spent the 2019/2020 academic year as a Fulbright Scholar at The Ohio State University. In 2022, he received the FEE teaching award in the practitioner category.

"Dr. Mihula is a pivotal young researcher and educator with great potential to contribute to the further development of the Department of Mathematics at FEE CTU. This membership is prestigious for him and the whole department," says the head of the department, prof. Jan Hamhalter.

How EMS Young Academy works

The organisation aims to help young mathematicians in their professional and career development and, at the same time, involve them in the decision-making processes of the European Mathematical Society. For example, members of the EMS Young Academy will have the opportunity to make suggestions for the development of EMS activities or to propose members of the Executive Committee. The organisation will develop its statutes and be funded by the European Mathematical Society.

A special committee selects 30 members for the EMS Young Academy from the nominees each year. National mathematical societies and institutional members of EMS can nominate two candidates at least in the third year of their Ph.D. studies or at most five years after receiving their Ph.D.

The first 30 EMYA members for 2023-2026 include two Czech mathematicians nominated by the Czech Mathematical Society. In addition to Dr. Zdeněk Mihula, Dr. Hana Turčinová from the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics at Charles University was also elected. The Institute of Mathematics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic is the second Czech institution that can nominate members. Thanks to its nomination, Dr. Olena Atlasiuk became a member of EMYA.