Publication date: 
The EuroTeQ alliance, of which CTU is a member, joined yesterday in supporting Ukraine, together with 40 other European university alliances . In a joint statement, the alliances also condemned the bombing of Kharkiv National University.

"We stand together and express our strongest solidarity to the Ukrainian people following the attack by the Russian government. We also strongly condemn the bombing of Kharkiv National University." So begins the text of a joint statement by 41 European university alliances representing nearly 300 European higher education institutions.

The statement goes on to say that these alliances were built on a shared vision of a peaceful and welcoming Europe. The higher education institutions therefore call for the restoration of peace, democracy and respect for human rights in Ukraine.

Individual associations have already started to receive Ukrainian refugees, including members of the Ukrainian academic community. The partners of these alliances then set up mechanisms in solidarity to support Ukrainian students and academics (fundraising, supply of basic equipment, scholarships, etc.).

Czech Technical University in Prague is a member of EuroTeQ Engineering University, a consortium of 6 European universities, as of 1 November 2020. The alliance also includes Technical University of Munich - TUM (DE), Technical University of Denmark - DTU (DK)Technical University of Eindhoven - TU/e (NL)Ecole Polytechnique - l’X (FR), and Tallinn University of Technology - TalTech (EST).

Contact person: